گروه آموزشی زبان انگلیسی در سوریه ، لبنان و اردن

برای دریافت مطالب درسی به قسمت صفحات وبلاگ مراجعه نمایید

گروه آموزشی زبان انگلیسی در سوریه ، لبنان و اردن

برای دریافت مطالب درسی به قسمت صفحات وبلاگ مراجعه نمایید

کاربرد do و make در انگلیسی

Do or Make?

It is not always easy to choose between "do" and "make".

Do can be an auxiliary verb (Do you like coffee?) or a main verb (I did my homework yesterday.). As an auxiliary verb, it has no meaning. It is necessary only for the grammatical structure. As a main verb it has a meaning, but the meaning is rather general. It often expresses a general activity.

Make is not an auxiliary verb. It is always a main verb (I made a cake yesterday.). Its meaning is also rather general, but it often expresses the idea of construction or creation.

Do:

Do for general activity

When we talk about a general activity but do not say what it is, we can use do:

. I want to do something.

. What are you doing this evening?

. What can we do?

. Do it now!

Do for work

We usually use do to talk about work:

. What do you do? (= What is your job?)

. Who does your shopping?

. I don't want to do any work today.

. I hate doing the washing up.

. Have you done your homework?

 

Note that we sometimes use do to replace another more exact verb (but only when the meaning is clear from the situation). This is very informal.

. do the lawn (cut/mow? sow? the lawn)

. do my room (tidy? paint? my room)

. do the car (wash? paint? repair? the car)

Make:

Make for construction

Make often expresses the idea of construction or creation:

. I'll make a cake for Anthony's birthday.

. This car was made in France.

. Did you make this table yourself?

Remember that we usually use make for products or goods that are manufactured. That's why you see labels like "Made in Hong Kong" or "Made in the USA" on products that you buy.

Now compare:

.Do the shopping. (We don't really create anything. We just "do" an activity.)

. Make a cake. (We really create something.)

 

In the next example, notice how we use make for creation (the cake) and then use do (for the general activity) even though we're really talking about the same thing:

. I must make Anthony's cake. I'll do it now.

 

Verbs: Do or Make

Do

Make

Business

one's best

the crosswords

damage

a degree/a course

your duty

a favour/a good turn

good/harm/justice

a good job

your homework

the housework

research

the shopping

a test

a translation

well/badly

work

without something

an appointment

arrangements/plans

a discovery

a difference/an exception

an effort

an enquiry

fun of something/somebody

an impression

a mistake

money

a point

a profit

progress

a promise

a speech/a declaration/a statement

a suggestion/an excuse/a complaint

sure/certain

room for something (find place for something)

 

Quiz:

1       What do you …… for a living?   

2       Have you …… your homework already?      

3       My husband …… the grocery shopping.       

4       Amber …… badly on her geography exam.   

5       The children …… a mess in the kitchen.        

6       We are having guests tonight, so please …… your bed.  

7       I only …… one mistake in my English test.  

8       I have to ask you to …… me a favour. 

9       Have you and your friend …… a decision yet?      

10     Please excuse me while I …… a phonecall.

نظرات 0 + ارسال نظر
برای نمایش آواتار خود در این وبلاگ در سایت Gravatar.com ثبت نام کنید. (راهنما)
ایمیل شما بعد از ثبت نمایش داده نخواهد شد